Cherish, Nurture, Aspire, Achieve

Find out more

Overall Approach for Early Years 

The Early Years Foundation Stage

All children in Foundation classes are taught from the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum.

The Foundation Stage starts at birth and is followed by child minders, nurseries and pre-schools and continues until your child leaves Foundation.

The Foundation Stage Curriculum is split into seven areas of learning; three Prime Areas and four Specific Areas. All seven areas of learning are taught in our Foundation Stage classes at St. Andrew’s.

Prime Areas


Communication and Language


Physical Development



(Personal, Social and Emotional Development)

Specific Areas



(Reading and Writing)



(Number and Shape,

Space and Measure)


Understanding the World


Exploring Media and Materials

At St. Andrew’s children are offered rich learning experiences in our Foundation Stage unit.

Children learn through play by engaging in activities as a whole class, in small groups, pairs and individually. Adults in the environment observe what the children say and do in class and provide appropriate next steps to build on their understanding and learning. These observations, along with photos and pieces of work, are collected together in the child’s learning journey record. Each child has their own learning journey record book and is able to add their own thoughts and learning to it.

Parents and carers are also encouraged to add their comments and thoughts. 

The teachers in the St. Andrew’s Foundation Stage classes work together and regularly discuss how the children are progressing, which areas the children are confident in and which areas need more practice. The teachers then adapt the classroom environment and learning opportunities to support this.

By the end of their time in the Foundation Stage all children in England are expected to have reached a certain level of development. There are 17 statements called Early Learning Goals (ELGs) which children are assessed against. At the end of the school year parents and carers receive a written report about their child. This report will comment on the child’s level of development in relation to the ELGs.

For more information about the Early Years Foundation Stage please visit: